Phil Asher Restless Soul Band

Fun! album – Restless Soul Band

Fun! by Phil Asher’s Restless Soul Band is an album featuring tried-and-tested club hits spanning funk, R&B and neo soul

Fun Restless Soul BandThere’s more to the west London sound than broken beats. Producer Phil Asher has been a leading exponent of another west London sound that reflects more of an eclectic ethos than a particular genre. During a typical Asher DJ set, music spanning house, funk and R&B are linked by a soulful thread — and that same soulfulness is ever-present on Fun! by his Restless Soul Band.

Quite a few of these songs have popped up on podcasts, mixes and radio shows for many years, but now they’ve been assembled on an album that contains several tried-and-tested hits.

Any DJs faced with a room full of listless clubbers can turn to It’s Hard, Turn Me Out and Taking Over Me, a trio of funk that’s guaranteed to attract punters to the dance floor.

The mid-tempo neo soul of Draw Your Bow and Off My Mind also deserve praise.

Listen to the album sampler on this page before heading to iTunes, Amazon and all decent outlets to download Fun!.

• If you like this article, subscribe to Commercial Break’s free newsletter or RSS feed (click here).
Album sampler of Fun!
It’s Hard

BBE Music
Track listing
1. Taking Over Me feat. Zansika
2. Everytime feat. Zansika
3. Off My Mind feat. Zansika
4. Sunshine Smile feat. DANK
5. 13 & Good feat. Mark de Clive Lowe
6. Missing feat. Zansika, Root Soul & SWING-O
7. Turn Me Out feat. Shea Soul
8. It’s Hard feat. Shea Soul & Light Particle
9. Joy feat. Ommas Keith
10. Breaking It Down feat. Danny Huckridge, Mark de Clive Lowe, Toni Economides & Zansika
11. Krafty Hand feat. Zansika & the 16bit Horns
12. Draw Your Bow feat. Shea Soul



, ,